County & Local History


Itasca County was formed in 1849 and originally included portions of present day eastern North & South Dakota, and MN counties of Cook, Lake, Saint Louis, Koochiching, eastern Lake of the Woods, eastern Beltrami, northern Aitkin, and northern Carlton.

county history

local history

off-site history links








Page Last Updated 02.29.2016